Why the US Is Losing To COVID-19

Celebrities and doctors alike are struggling to get everyone to wear masks. Here are three big reasons why that won’t change.

Photo by Martin Sanchez on Unsplash

Disclaimer(s): I’m not a scientist. This article contains some sweeping generalisations. I am NOT saying that England, or any country for that matter, has handled this crisis perfectly. I love America and can’t wait to return. ✌🏻

When I first thought about Americans and how they’d handle the COVID-19 outbreak, my reaction was “oh, they’ll be fine.” That belief came about not because of their strong political leadership (hmm), but because of Borat.

The clip above (at 0:28, 0:58 and 1:18) demonstrates the extent to which the majority of Americans value their personal space.

Unlike the English, who say “excuse me” when someone is in their way and they want them to get out of it, Americans say it regardless of whether or not they actually need the person to move. They literally apologise for having the audacity to enter that individual’s bubble of…

--

--